ATLANTA -- Former Seattle SuperSonics guard Gary The Glove Payton was among seven people elected to the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame.

Joining Payton in the class of 2013 are current Louisville head coach Rick Pitino, former NBA stars Bernard King and Gary Payton, former UNLV coach Jerry Tarkanian, North Carolina women's coach Sylvia Hatchell, former University of Houston coach Guy Lewis, former University of Virginia star Dawn Staley.

Pitino's Cardinals were set to face Michigan Monday night for the NCAA Championship.

The inductions will take place in Springfield, Mass. in September.

Inductees announced previously were Edwin E.B. Henderson, a direct elect by the Early African Pioneer Committee, longtime Indiana Pacers guard Roger Brown, Oscar Schmidt of Brazil, the leading scorer in Olympic history, Richie Guerin, a star for the New York Knicks in the 1950s, and Russ Granik, the longtime assistant commissioner of the NBA.

Read or Share this story: