Latest Washington, Oregon and Alaska sports


Associated Press

Posted on May 28, 2013 at 5:03 PM

Updated Tuesday, May 28 at 5:03 PM


Harang 4-hitter leads Seattle past San Diego 9-0

SEATTLE (AP) — Aaron Harang threw a four-hitter, Jason Bay hit his first career leadoff homer and Michael Morse added a three-run shot as part of Seattle's four-run first inning as the Mariners beat the San Diego Padres 9-0 on Monday.

Harang (2-5) rebounded from a poor last start against the Angels, allowing a leadoff bloop double to Everth Cabrera and then retiring 18 of the next 19 batters. It was his first complete game since June 4, 2009 and first shutout since April 12, 2009. He struck out a season-high eight and threw 122 pitches.

A day after getting the game-winning hit in the 13th inning against Texas that snapped the Mariners' eight-game losing streak, Bay got Seattle started against San Diego lefty Clayton Richard (0-5).


Padres activate Richard prior to start vs Mariners

SEATTLE (AP) — The San Diego Padres reinstated winless left-hander Clayton Richard from the 15-day disabled list in time to start against the Seattle Mariners on Monday.

To make room on the roster, left-hander Tommy Layne was optioned to Triple-A Tucson.

Richard is 0-4 with an 8.54 ERA in six starts for the Padres.

He had been on the DL with an intestinal virus since May 5th. He made two rehab starts with Triple-A Tucson, going 0-1 with a 2.25 ERA with 12 strikeouts and no walks.

Layne was recalled Friday and appeared in Sunday's loss at Arizona.


Seattle demotes struggling 2B Dustin Ackley

SEATTLE (AP) — The Seattle Mariners have demoted struggling second baseman Dustin Ackley to Triple-A Tacoma, the second young prospect the team has sent down in the last week.

Seattle made the move before Monday's game against the San Diego Padres. The Mariners selected rising prospect Nick Franklin from Tacoma to take Ackley's spot on the roster. Seattle also optioned left-handed reliever Lucas Luetge to Tacoma and recalled right-hander Hector Noesi.

Ackley joins Jesus Montero as young players the Mariners were counting on this season who will try to rediscover themselves at the plate in the minors. Ackley was batting.205 and had just six hits since May 7, when his average was at its season high of .255.

Franklin was hitting .324 with four homers and 20 RBIs in 39 games with Tacoma.


Oregon hosts NCAA regional as No. 8 seed

EUGENE, Ore. (AP) — The Oregon Ducks earned the eighth seed in the NCAA tournament and will host a regional at PK Park for the second-straight year.

Rice (41-17) and San Francisco (34-22) will open the double-elimination regional Friday afternoon, followed by the Ducks (45-15) against South Dakota State (35-22). The Jackrabbits are making their first-ever postseason appearance.

It is Oregon's third appearance in the NCAA tournament since bringing back its baseball program in 2009. It is the Ducks' fifth overall appearance in baseball's postseason.

Oregon has advanced to the College World Series once in 1954.


Beavers host NCAA Regional as No. 3 seed

CORVALLIS, Ore. (AP) — The Oregon State Beavers are the No. 3 seed for the NCAA tournament, the team's best-ever seeding in the baseball post-season.

The Beavers, who won back-to-back College World Series titles in 2006-07, will host a double-elimination regional at Goss Stadium starting Friday.

Texas A&M (32-27) will play UC Santa Barbara (34-23) in the opener Friday, followed by Oregon State (40-26) against Texas-San Antonio (35-23).

It is Oregon State's fifth straight tournament appearance and 14th overall. It is the fourth time that the Beavers have hosted a regional.

Oregon State, ranked No. 4 in the latest Baseball America poll, won the Pac-12 title this season, going 24-6 in conference play.


North Carolina top seed for NCAA baseball tourney

OMAHA, Neb. (AP) — North Carolina is the No. 1 seed in the NCAA baseball tournament.

The Division I selection committee on Monday rewarded the Tar Heels (52-8) for a strong body of work that included an exhausting run to the Atlantic Coast Conference tournament championship.

The 64-team tournament opens Friday with 16 four-team, double-elimination regionals. Best-of-three super regionals will be held next week, with those winners moving to the College World Series in Omaha, Neb.

The other national seeds, in order, are: Vanderbilt, Oregon State, LSU, Cal State Fullerton, Virginia, Florida State and Oregon.

The 1999 Miami Hurricanes are the only top-seeded team to go on to win the national title, and that was in the first year of the current tournament format.